51acwILUn1L._SX308_BO1,204,203,200_

*Book One of The Possess Saga*

Stumbling off the bus in Midtown, Harley Martin thought she found an escape from her old life.

She soon realizes it was anything but that.

Low on cash and options, she manages to find herself a cheap but surprisingly nice apartment. The catch? The last tenant, Brody Walsh, killed himself.

Or did he?

As disturbing dreams and hauntings start to occur, Harley realizes there may be much more behind the previous tenant’s death than a simple suicide. She finds her life further entangled with his when she learns that her new boss, Nolan, was also his best friend. Could this handsome but evasive pub owner have something to do with Brody’s death?

Trying to piece together the events surrounding Brody’s death proves to be a daunting task, but Harley can’t give up. Brody won’t let her. He is still in the apartment with her, trapped in limbo until she finds his killer.

But he’s not waiting for revenge.

Harley’s next.

First of all, I’ve definitely got a new series to fangirl over, and I can’t wait to get started on the next one! I’ve fallen in love with the characters and storyline, and it’s got me well and truly gripped.

Bad points first (not that there are many). The whodunnit angle was sometimes a little too easily conceived (but further down, I also mention this isn’t a bad point), and I thought a few things in the storyline were perhaps a little too easily worked out, like with the flat and the job, BUT…it’s not as if it couldn’t happen. In fact, it makes me wonder if it’s something that might be made more clear further down the storyline in other books, maybe there’s a reason for it? Which brings me to the….

Good points! I loved how there seemed to be so many little clues dropped in that kept you guessing all the way through. I did guess the whodunnit of it all about two thirds in, but I was so sucked in, I didn’t care. Sometimes you don’t need to be kept from the mystery to want to know how it all turns out, and this is definitely one of those books.

The characters were fabulous, and Harley was a true strong female protagonist, with an interesting, flawed character, as opposed to the cardboard cut-out of most female heroines. Nolan was awesome, and the two of them were the absolute gem of the book for me – they made me want to read beyond the last page.

The story was well-paced, with just the right amount of action dropped in with engaging dialogue and some very darkly funny parts. The other wonderfully surprising thing about this story was the fact that so many pages had me laughing out loud and sniggering, then the next moment being pulled back into the stranger side of things with Brody…..but you’ll have to read it to find out more about that!

Overall, I’d recommend this book to anyone who wants a fresh angle on the whole paranormal/romance/suspense genre – although this book is far more than that, a really captivating combination of things – and the only reason I would give this 4 stars rather than 5 is the fact that some parts of it were a little too convenient for me. But it was a fabulous book overall, got me hooked on both the story and the characters, and I can’t wait to get started on Book 2! It gets a fabulous 4.5 from me. 🙂

Four Star

Get yourself a copy here!

Leave a Reply

